This pricepoint is pretty much based on pirating a copy of OS X.
Re:Does this sign you up for phone spam?
on
1-800-Google Launches
·
· Score: 2, Informative
Nope. I've been using the SMS-based version of this (Send an SMS with 'pizza' or 'weather' to 46645 (GOOGL)) and haven't received a single unsolicited message. It's unfortunate that spammers have given SMS such a bad repertoire. Everytime I see an SMS-based service that seems legitimate I am still leery of using it because I don't want SMS spam waking me in the middle of the night.
I'm not even looking for typos.. I just find myself having to re-read the summaries three, four, and five times. Typos that lead to incoherent sentences, unclosed quotations, and more. How many grade school grammar mistakes can be made in a single paragraph?
I use Firebug (Firefox extension, google it) all the time to debug my own JavaScript.
It lets you review the source, traverse the DOM, etc. and make live changes to the JavaScript/DOM/HTML on the fly.
You can add code, redefine functions, change variables, etc.
I hate to encourage this sort of thing, but you'd be surprised at the number of shopping carts and other systems online that rely on the JavaScript code to be "trustable". This, of course, is a horrible methodology. Sadly, it's widespread.
For example, say someone uses AJAX to call a serverside PHP script that returns the price for a given SKU and stores it in a variable 'p'.
You skip past all this code and just set p = 0.01 in Firebug. Refresh the page and now your item's price is $0.01. This works in at least 20-30% of all the small-to-medium enterprise AJAX carts I've informally tested it on.
Having never checked out (that would be theft) with this modified value, it's impossible to say if those same retailers were using proper serverside validation in the checkout process. I'd guess not, given their lackluster approach to AJAX security.
I haven't seen any posts on here in regards to the negative effects this will have on the students.
I know this is Slashdot, so any Linux/OSS penetration is great news, but:
These students, when they graduate and get real jobs, will have a >95% chance of using Windows in their job. What sense does it make to train them on a platform they have a 20:1 chance of never encountering?
As to point 2, assuming the settlement gets approved by the Judget, it prevents any member of the class from ever suing Google in the future with regards to click fraud.
And every single AdWords advertiser was opted in by default. The opt-out process was painful and included paper mailing a personalized letter, and so on.
I sincerely doubt any significant percentage of the class opted out, the notifications and instructions were very, very poor.
If the settlement is approved, consider Google immune from clickfraud suits from every current advertiser.
Oh, by the way, that $90M was an "allocation of advertising credit for claims of click fraud on past activity". So it was an invitation for us to review our 3 years of logs, identify click fraud, and get credit for it. (There is normally a 90-day statute of limitations, per your agreement with Google)
So net cost to them, $0. Reduced liabilities to them, probably half a billion dollars, maybe more.
That is a very poor title. Is the book about PHP 5 and MySQL 5? or PHP 5 and MySQL 4?
Re:vonage "spamming" using voicemails
on
Vonage going IPO
·
· Score: 1
It would be wise of Vonage to take a page out of the book about how other popular companies handle their employees' internet presences.
"Censorship" may not be of popular opinion on Slashdot, but when you make a post like the parent I'm replying to, you are effectively speaking on behalf of Vonage.
Perhaps not legally, but when customers current or prospective are voting with their wallets, it'll count.
I read and appreciated your presence all the way up until "cry me a river".
As a prospective (thanks to their effective marketing) shareholder: Especially in the process of trying to market an IPO, I would expect them to terminate your employment.
Any IPO's success largely depends on Wall Street's "buy-in" of a company. And that is sheer marketing. The financials don't matter nearly as much as the analysts' arrogant opinions of how a stock will perform, thus fueling its IPO purchasing.
Guess what: a lot of VCs, Wall Street firms, and more read Slashdot. Your negative attitude towards customers will be the only "peek" into the employee and customer service culture at Vonage that most of the readers get.
It's obvious that you're a wage earner with nothing riding on this IPO or you'd have never commented in the first place, much less the way you did.
But please, if you expect to keep your job, keep your mouth shut.
Don't be confused, Google has no morals - it is a publicly traded company with a goal of profit.
If they thought they could run more ads with no repercussions, they'd be all over it.
The fact is, they probably can't. I'm sure it's drawn much debate within the Googleplex, but the general consensus is that there are many types of ads that could negatively affect the general AdWords experience.
The secret key to the AdWords recipe is CTR - Click-through Rate.
If Advertiser A is willing to pay $10/click, but only gets a 1% CTR, Google's EPM for that advertiser would be only $100.
If Advertiser B is only willing to pay $1/click, but has a targeted ad drawing a 14% CTR - Google's EPM is $140.
So now they made 40% more AND didn't waste an important ad slot AND provided a better user experience.
A better user experience means MORE people look for their place to click within the screen-region of AdWords, providing an even higher overall CTR.
If you look at some heat maps for Google searches, on most commercialized SERPs (result pages) - their CTR is well over 23%.
This means is the average CPC (cost per click) is [!random example!] $0.55, they are earning an average $126.50 EPM.
It'd be a shame if something were to happen to this nice botnet ya got here...
This pricepoint is pretty much based on pirating a copy of OS X.
Nope. I've been using the SMS-based version of this (Send an SMS with 'pizza' or 'weather' to 46645 (GOOGL)) and haven't received a single unsolicited message. It's unfortunate that spammers have given SMS such a bad repertoire. Everytime I see an SMS-based service that seems legitimate I am still leery of using it because I don't want SMS spam waking me in the middle of the night.
I'm not even looking for typos.. I just find myself having to re-read the summaries three, four, and five times. Typos that lead to incoherent sentences, unclosed quotations, and more. How many grade school grammar mistakes can be made in a single paragraph?
And since you licensed it, their new license for you would allow you to lawfully remove the DRM on those files. Right?
IANAL.
I use Firebug (Firefox extension, google it) all the time to debug my own JavaScript.
It lets you review the source, traverse the DOM, etc. and make live changes to the JavaScript/DOM/HTML on the fly.
You can add code, redefine functions, change variables, etc.
I hate to encourage this sort of thing, but you'd be surprised at the number of shopping carts and other systems online that rely on the JavaScript code to be "trustable". This, of course, is a horrible methodology. Sadly, it's widespread.
For example, say someone uses AJAX to call a serverside PHP script that returns the price for a given SKU and stores it in a variable 'p'.
You skip past all this code and just set p = 0.01 in Firebug. Refresh the page and now your item's price is $0.01. This works in at least 20-30% of all the small-to-medium enterprise AJAX carts I've informally tested it on.
Having never checked out (that would be theft) with this modified value, it's impossible to say if those same retailers were using proper serverside validation in the checkout process. I'd guess not, given their lackluster approach to AJAX security.
-mh
love the seinfeld reference.. that alone will make me check out the game :)
I haven't seen any posts on here in regards to the negative effects this will have on the students.
I know this is Slashdot, so any Linux/OSS penetration is great news, but:
These students, when they graduate and get real jobs, will have a >95% chance of using Windows in their job. What sense does it make to train them on a platform they have a 20:1 chance of never encountering?
One of the only good things that the DMCA brought us was to take care of this exact situation.
MySpace is not liable for unmonitored uploads done by its' users as long as it complies with takedown notices from copyright holders.
This is open and shut.
MySpace still however might settle with Universal, unfortunately.. preventing the precedent from being set.
Sigh, indeed.
They do.
And it works almost exactly like you described.
Adult site operators have no interest in having underage people seeing their sites.
Forgetting the obvious moral issues, there's simply no money in it. Bandwidth costs money, and kids don't have credit cards.
This is about a bunch of lazy parents.
Who knew plunky was a word? Was that summary written by C. Montgomery Burns?
Good thing there's no bias in this summary.
Selling adult material of willing participants to adults who want it.. definitely the same as theft.
Just checked the stats on a major US-only apparel site. IE - 78.17%, FF 14.42%. As reported by Google Analytics.
http://www.asacp.org/ ASACP works hand-in-hand with Customs and the FBI to eliminate CP on the web and otherwise.
Let me get this straight.. now Google is good for porn AND viruses?
How do the other engines stay in business?!?
As to point 2, assuming the settlement gets approved by the Judget, it prevents any member of the class from ever suing Google in the future with regards to click fraud.
And every single AdWords advertiser was opted in by default. The opt-out process was painful and included paper mailing a personalized letter, and so on.
I sincerely doubt any significant percentage of the class opted out, the notifications and instructions were very, very poor.
If the settlement is approved, consider Google immune from clickfraud suits from every current advertiser.
Oh, by the way, that $90M was an "allocation of advertising credit for claims of click fraud on past activity". So it was an invitation for us to review our 3 years of logs, identify click fraud, and get credit for it. (There is normally a 90-day statute of limitations, per your agreement with Google)
So net cost to them, $0. Reduced liabilities to them, probably half a billion dollars, maybe more.
Actually it's my lingerie company.. :)
So, yes.. I do know.
Most of the best food combinations were discovered by accident too..
mmm.. peanut butter & bananas.
adbrite.com
That is a very poor title. Is the book about PHP 5 and MySQL 5? or PHP 5 and MySQL 4?
It would be wise of Vonage to take a page out of the book about how other popular companies handle their employees' internet presences. "Censorship" may not be of popular opinion on Slashdot, but when you make a post like the parent I'm replying to, you are effectively speaking on behalf of Vonage. Perhaps not legally, but when customers current or prospective are voting with their wallets, it'll count. I read and appreciated your presence all the way up until "cry me a river". As a prospective (thanks to their effective marketing) shareholder: Especially in the process of trying to market an IPO, I would expect them to terminate your employment. Any IPO's success largely depends on Wall Street's "buy-in" of a company. And that is sheer marketing. The financials don't matter nearly as much as the analysts' arrogant opinions of how a stock will perform, thus fueling its IPO purchasing. Guess what: a lot of VCs, Wall Street firms, and more read Slashdot. Your negative attitude towards customers will be the only "peek" into the employee and customer service culture at Vonage that most of the readers get. It's obvious that you're a wage earner with nothing riding on this IPO or you'd have never commented in the first place, much less the way you did. But please, if you expect to keep your job, keep your mouth shut.
So does he have an emulator for Slashdot?
NESlashdot?
SlashMAME?
OK, I'm done.
Using a computer rather than an actual game console like a PlayStation
Hmm? You mean like a Nintendo?
And can I get a supersubmitter account like the WSJ has? I have some regurgitated news with ads, too.
:long post warning:
A lot of people posting don't get the real scale of this.
From the article: 2,072 from FISC, 3,501 from FBI... in 2005.
2072+3501=5573.
Also from the article:
"more than twice as many as were issued in 2000".
Let's focus on 2000-now.
Let's assume that in 2000, exactly half of the number issued in 2005 were issued.. 5573/2 ~= 2787.
Now.. some quick math tells us that's a ~15% increase per year.
So from 2000-2006: 2787, 3233, 3750, 4350, 5046, 5773, 6697.. total: 31,636.
Here comes the fun part. The "B" side of all these conversations that are monitored. No one talks to themselves on the phone/internet, right?
The average person (according to data I found, no source, insert your own number here) has 17.33 "regular " acquaintances.
That's 548,252 US citizens/residents being monitored.
There were 217,766,271 18+ citizens as of 2003. (source: Census Bureau)
In 2005 the population growth rate was 0.95%. (source: CIA Factbook)
Assuming the pop. growth was the same for 2004, 2005, 2006 there are now 224,031,757 citizens.
548252/224031757 = 408.
1:408.
ONE IN FOUR HUNDRED AND EIGHT US CITIZENS ARE BEING SPIED ON.
Don't be confused, Google has no morals - it is a publicly traded company with a goal of profit.
If they thought they could run more ads with no repercussions, they'd be all over it.
The fact is, they probably can't. I'm sure it's drawn much debate within the Googleplex, but the general consensus is that there are many types of ads that could negatively affect the general AdWords experience.
The secret key to the AdWords recipe is CTR - Click-through Rate.
If Advertiser A is willing to pay $10/click, but only gets a 1% CTR, Google's EPM for that advertiser would be only $100.
If Advertiser B is only willing to pay $1/click, but has a targeted ad drawing a 14% CTR - Google's EPM is $140.
So now they made 40% more AND didn't waste an important ad slot AND provided a better user experience.
A better user experience means MORE people look for their place to click within the screen-region of AdWords, providing an even higher overall CTR.
If you look at some heat maps for Google searches, on most commercialized SERPs (result pages) - their CTR is well over 23%.
This means is the average CPC (cost per click) is [!random example!] $0.55, they are earning an average $126.50 EPM.
Google does 91M searches/day (source).
91,000,000 / 1000 = 91,000. 91k * $126.5 = $11,511,500.
Oh, yeah.. this doesn't include the content network, or the domain network, or search partners (AOL, Ask.com, et al).
$$$